Fatema Al Nuaimi Chief Executive Officer ADNOC LNG and The ADIPEC Awards Chairperson - web.jpg

The ADIPEC Awards 2020 goes virtual for 10th anniversary

Nov 01, 2020
5 min read
Print this page

The Abu Dhabi International Petroleum Exhibition & Conference (ADIPEC) Awards, the prestigious annual programme hosted by ADNOC that honours, recognises and celebrates the best-in-class across the global oil and gas industry, will see its accolades presented in a virtual ceremony for the first time in its 10-year history this month.

The highly coveted ADIPEC Awards has been expanded from six to 10 categories to mark its 10th anniversary milestone, to include a Lifetime Achievement Award, Oil and Gas Start-up Company of the Year, Operational Excellence and Solutions to Climate Change Company of the Year.

Held under the patronage of the UAE President His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan and hosted by the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC), this year’s honours will form part of the official opening ceremony of ADIPEC 2020 on November 9 and will follow the opening keynote address from H.E. Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, Minister of Industry and Advanced Technology for the UAE and Group CEO of ADNOC. It will reward and highlight the industry’s response to global economic & technological trends, against a backdrop of unprecedented challenges for the energy industry.

“The ADIPEC Awards winners represent the very best in oil and gas, and I am deeply honoured to serve as the ADIPEC Awards Chair. We’ve received hundreds of submissions from over 35 countries across six continents, which is a testament to the Awards’ appeal across the global oil and gas industry.  Despite these challenging times, the quality and number of submissions highlight a strong desire from the industry to innovate and reinvent itself,” said Fatema Al Nuaimi, Chief Executive Officer, ADNOC LNG and The ADIPEC Awards Chairperson.

“The Awards are a golden opportunity for the global energy community to learn about the innovators, game-changers and future-focused projects that are driving transformative change in our industry. The advancement and the addition of new categories serves to make the Awards ever-relevant as we navigate these changing tides together.”

The addition of the Boston Consulting Group as The ADIPEC Awards 2020 Market Insight Partner has further improved the programme, providing an enhanced adjudication process and acceptance criteria. The nominations undergo a detailed evaluation process, which includes shortlisting by 46 technical and 20 selection committee members and a final adjudication by an international jury panel comprising eight leading energy authorities:

H.E. Suhail Mohamed AI Mazrouei, Minister of Energy and Infrastructure, UAE.

H.E. Tarek EI Molla, Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Arab Republic of Egypt.

Dr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency.

Vicki Hollub, President & CEO, Occidental.

Lorenzo Simonelli, Chairman, President & CEO, Baker Hughes.

Takayuki Ueda, President & CEO, INPEX Corporation.

Dr Pratima Rangarajan, CEO, OGCI Climate Investments.

Jason Bordoff, Professor of Professional Practice and International Public Affairs, Founding Director, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University.

“The ADIPEC Awards are characterised by rigorous procedures and transparency in both the shortlist and final selection of those most deserving, those who have distinguished themselves, and those who have proven worthy of recognition,” commented dmg events Global Energy President, Christopher Hudson.

The ADIPEC Awards is proud to welcome category sponsors on board: Mitsui & Co. is sponsoring Breakthrough Technological Project of the Year; bp is sponsoring Solutions to Climate Change Company of the Year; ExxonMobil is sponsoring Young Technical Professional of the Year and Total is sponsoring Oil and Gas Inclusion and Diversity Company of the Year.

The ADIPEC 2020 Virtual Strategic and Technical Conferences will run alongside the ADIPEC Virtual Awards featuring over 135 live and on-demand sessions and more than 700 speakers delivering over 100 hours of knowledge streaming.

The virtual exhibition will host more than 100 exhibiting companies from around the world and the live, or on demand, content will give attendees access to world-class industry content, including the latest strategic knowledge, technical expertise, applications, solutions, and services, from across the global oil and gas value chain.


1.Breakthrough Research of the Year

  • Eni SpA
  • INPEX Corporation
  • Shell

2.Breakthrough Technological Project of the Year

  • Saudi Aramco and Seabed Geosolutions
  • PTTEP, Kongsberg Ferrotech & AI and Robotics Ventures
  • InflowControl

3.Digital Transformation Project of the Year

  • SparkCognition and bp
  • Saudi Aramco, Foghorn Systems, Aramco Aberdeen, Aramco Houston Sensors Team, KAUST and Modus Oilfield
  • ADNOC and Schlumberger

4.Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Oliver Mullins of Schlumberger
  • Sunil Kokal of Saudi Aramco
  • Nabil Al Alawi of Al Mansoori Specialized Engineering

5.Oil & Gas Inclusion & Diversity Company of the Year

  • Petroleum Development Oman
  • Baker Hughes
  • Emerson Automation Solutions

6.Oil & Gas Start-up of the Year

  • Xsens AS
  • Enduralock
  • Angara Industries Limited

7.Operational Excellence Company of the Year

  • Shell
  • ADNOC Gas Processing

8.Social Contribution & Local Content Project of the Year

  • Basrah Gas Company
  • bp Oman
  • Petroleum Development Oman

9.Solutions to Climate Change Company of the Year

  • Neutral Fuels,
  • ADNOC Gas Processing
  • Eni SpA

10.Young Technical Professional of the Year

  • Mustafa AlKhowaildi of Saudi Aramco
  • Serene Lock Sow Mun of Malaysia’s Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS
  • Muhammad Akram Karimi of Germany’s SensoTech.

dmg events Global Energy Exhibitions & Conferences